Skip Navigation

This table is used for column layout.
More Items
Advisory Council
Contact TypeContact Information
Chair, Advisory Council, Second Member, Board of Directors
Advisory Council, c/o Essex Regional Retirement System
491 Maple Street, Building 200
Danvers, MA 01923
(978) 739-9151 x105
(978) 750-0745
Monday - Friday
8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Link to PageLink to Page
Additional Links:
Link to PageLink to PageLink to Page
The Essex Regional Retirement System (ERRS) Advisory Council consists of the full-time treasurers, elected or appointed, of each town, unit or district in the retirement system.  If a town, unit or district does not employ a full-time treasurer, the highest ranking, full-time executive employee is a member of the Advisory Council.  The members of the Advisory Council elect the Second Member of the Retirement Board as well as a Chair from among its members.  Kevin Merz, the Treasurer-Collector from the Town of Ipswich is the current Second Member of the Board of Directors and serves as the Chair of the Advisory Council.

The ERRS Advisory Council is required by statute to meet twice per year.  Typically, one meeting is held in the spring and the second meeting is held in the fall.  Meetings are held on a rotating basis throughout the member towns within ERRS.  All Advisory Council meetings are open, public meetings and are subject to the Commonwealth's Open Meeting Law.  The public is welcome to attend Advisory Council meetings.  Please check this page or the calendar on the home page of this website for Advisory Council meeting dates, times and locations.

The Advisory Council is responsible for certifying the election of members to the Retirement Board and receiving reports of the actuary as to the assets and liabilities of the retirement system.  The Advisory Council is also required by statute to approve certain votes of the Board of Directors.


491 Maple Street, Suite 202, Danvers, MA 01923-4025 • Phone:(978) 739-9151 • Fax:(978) 750-0745 • Toll Free:(800) 224-4804